Crunchyroll Anime Awards 2021

Crunchyroll’s Anime Awards to return in 2021; categories and judges announced

Today, Crunchyroll has revealed details for the fifth annual Anime Awards, which it will host on Friday, February 19th, 2021 at 5:00 pm PST (8:00 pm EST).

Every year, Crunchyroll asks anime fans to cast ballots on series they’ve watched over the previous year across a variety of categories. Once the voting has concluded, Crunchyroll presents the results over the internet in an hours-long event with guests to reveal who the winners are.

Leading up to the live-streamed ceremony in February, fans will get to pick their favourite nominees from a wide selection of categories listed below. Voting starts at 9:00 am PST (12:00 pm EST) on Friday, January 15th, 2021 and ends a week later at 5:00 pm PST (8:00 pm EST) on Friday, January 22nd, 2021.

  • Anime of the Year
  • Best Protagonist
  • Best Antagonist
  • Best Girl
  • Best Boy
  • Best Director
  • Best Animation
  • Best Character Design
  • Best Score
  • Best Fight Scene
  • Best Couple
  • Best VA Performance in Japanese
  • Best VA Performance in English
  • Best Opening Sequence
  • Best Ending Sequence
  • Best Fantasy
  • Best Drama
  • Best Comedy

Judges for the awards are a global gathering of fans, selected for their love of anime. These judges, a roster of over 50 for 2021, will get to choose the candidates for each category. Crunchyroll has shared a list of the judges with their brief bios on their web site.

The award show for 2021 is presented by Crunchyroll Games’ recently announced mobile title Princess Connect! Re: Dive for both iOS and Android devices. Pre-registration is open through the Google Play Store and Apple App Store.

Source: Crunchyroll media release

Did you find a typographical or grammatical error in this article? Please let us know!

Leave a Reply